Darkness of night

Sometimes, I am afraid of darkness,

Especially those fearsome nights,

When I woke up in the middle of sleep

Those nights felt lengthier than usual ones,

I was tired, but sleep was standing away

Street dogs were barking incessantly,

And the cicadas sound too rattling the ears,

Lost my patience over not getting sleep,

Switching the positions of head

My bed was placed near to window

The window was not draped

Chilled air was entering in to the room

My face was bathed by the moonlight

Stars twinkling above my head,

tickling my eyebrows,

Branches of the tree was often caressing

my window glass

The leaves appears sleeping,

Fireflies strewed across branches

Challenging the lights of the stars

As if it were dropped on earth

Everything on the earth were sleeping

Except me and those barking street dogs,

It was piercing through my ear-drums.

2 Comments

Filed under Poems by SUNEESH

2 responses to “Darkness of night

Leave a comment