To my little sister

I was in a journey from Jabalpur to Chennai. Train came four hours late. After waiting for long, which I don’t like usually, I rushed into my compartment to occupy the seat. I got up early in the morning since the train was scheduled at early morning. My eyebrows felt heaviness due to the tiresome journey and the long waiting for train. Fortunately, I got side-seat, which I prefer while traveling as it provides more privacy. Train started moving leaving behind the images of the railway platform,  which became the familiar scenes as I moved across several times.

The catering person came taking the order. I ordered chappathi and dal-fry which is the most common the North-Indian menu. I didn’t had breakfast as I had to rush for the train (as it was scheduled at early morning).  I didn’t feel the taste of the food as I was thirsty and tired due to hectic travels in previous days. Sleep was  slipping my eyes. I arranged my bed and laid  by seeing through the window. I may not be able to remember when I went into deep sleep. The wonderful images of Jabalpur was appearing in my dreams. Though, I could cover many places in short duration of trip such as Bargi dam and Beragarh etc, stil I felt that I was missing several things. The sleep was disturbed by “tea-wallagh’s” sound. Train was stopped at some stations. I was told by the “cabin-boy” that train is waiting for some other train to pass. I just came out for getting some fresh air. It was around 4 pm and the weather was not so sunny. I saw few folks walking along the railway platform. Cows and buffaloes were foraging in the farm not very far from the railway lines. I saw some ladies, fetching water from the pipes provided in the station and walking through the platform.

I took some photos.

2013-02-24 15.38.48

Suddenly, ……………It was shocking but, real….I saw a little girl with a pot full of water on her little head. I couldn’t forget her image even now. Such an innocent age when, I used to find time for playing, this girl is trying to help her parents by carrying weights on her head. As the camera flash flickered she started looking at me and moved forward. She turned back again to see me. The train horn banged my ears again, indicating that it is about to leave. Even several days after that incident, the angel’s pathetic face appeared in night dreams.

1 Comment

Filed under Articles

One response to “To my little sister

  1. Ragi

    really heart touching photo………

Leave a Reply

